Sign and House Polarities

Zodiac Polarities

Sign and House Polarities

Last Updated on December 18, 2017 by Coven of the Goddess

There are six sign polarities in astrology –these are natural oppositions. Aries-Libra, Taurus-Scorpio, Gemini-Sagittarius, Cancer-Capricorn, Leo-Aquarius, and Virgo-Pisces.

House polarities are 1st-7th, 2nd-8th, 3rd-9th, 4th-10th, 5th-11th, and 6th-12th.

Although there are differences between houses and signs, we will study their relationships in house rulerships.

Aries-Libra and 1st-7th House Polarity

This is a relationship axis, where Aries (Fire/Cardinal) and the 1st house represent self/self-assertion and Libra (Air/Cardinal) and the second house represent other/compromise. People born with planets in both Aries and Libra or both the 1st and 7th need to learn the balance between these two needs.

Taurus-Scorpio and 2nd-8th House Polarity

This polarity deals with form, where Taurus (Earth/Fixed) and the 2nd house represent matter, personal values, material goods, possessions, and security versus Scorpio (Water/Fixed) and the eighth house represent destruction of form, shared possessions, and change/transformation.

Gemini-Sagittarius and 3rd-9th House Polarity

This is a mental axis, where Gemini (Air/Mutable) and the 3rd house represent the lower mind/curiosity and logical thinking and Sagittarius (Fire/Mutable) and the 9th house represent the higher mind/the quest for meaning .

Cancer-Capricorn and 4th-10th House Polarity

This is an unconditional and conditional love axis. Cancer (Water/Cardinal) and the 4th house represent private life, domesticity, nurturance, attachments versus Capricorn (Earth/Cardinal) the public life, career, reputation, accountability, rewards/punishments.

Leo-Aquarius and 5th-11th House Polarity

This polarity deals with the balance between the personal and impersonal. Leo (Fire/Fixed) and the fifth house represent creative expression, ego, pleasure and romance versus Aquarius (Air/Fixed) and the eleventh house represents groups, more impersonal friendships, and objectivity.

Virgo-Pisces and 6th-12th House Polarity

This polarity is the service axis, where Virgo (Earth/Mutable) and the sixth house represent balance between day-to-day functions and routines, physical health, and the need for order versus Pisces (Water/mutable) and the 12th house represent vision, spiritual health, disorder, and the infinite. Virgo and the sixth house rule our tools and techniques that we use to deal with day-to-day life, while Pisces and the twelfth house rule our tools that we use to deal with our spirituality.

Leave a Reply

error: Alert: Content is protected !!